Skip to content

Running in New Orleans!

February 24, 2011

This post is long overdue; I have been SO busy at work (excuses, excuses).

Two weeks ago I was very fortunate to be able to travel to New Orleans for some DetermiNation training during the Rock ‘n’ Roll Mardi Gras Marathon and Half Marathon! Although I was super excited about the trip, like any running/exercise addict, I was a bit worried about when (or if!) I would find time to run. Lucky for me, I work for an endurance event program, so the running was written into our agenda – SCORE!

Saturday morning we had a 6:30 a.m. run scheduled. It’s main purpose was a warm up run for our participants running either the full or half marathon on Sunday.

We started down Bourbon St., and as the street is famous for its nightlife, there will still folks out partying from the night before. I guess their weekend agenda didn’t include a 6:30 a.m. run??

The first loop around the French Quarter brought us at only 1.67 miles, but like I said, a lot of the group was running 26.2 or 13.1 miles the next day!

A few of us (non-Mardi Gras marathoners) had already decided to do 5 miles, so a smaller group continued on a 2nd loop, that brought us at about 3 miles. Still not enough…

A “special” group of 6 of us continued to add another 2 miles, bringing us to 5 miles in about 46 minutes. What a great way to start a day filled of training and marathon planning! It was fantastic to be able to see the sights of the city during a time that so few people were out and about.

The next day, I was working as a DetermiNation Coach on the race course. I was assigned to mile 10 of the half marathon, and mile 14 of the full marathon with another trainee, Lisa.  

Click to see the course map–> MG_11_Course-detailed_01-24-20111

More than “coaching,” we felt that it was our personal responsibility to cheer our hearts out! I’ve been in the runners’ shoes, many times, and I could tell our encouragement was greatly appreciated by participants.  Lisa had made a sign that said “This Way for Beer,” that many got a kick out of. When the race was coming to an end, Lisa and I ran the final 3.1 miles of the half marathon. It was difficult being a spectator because I wanted to run, but it was fun being on the sidelines for once as well!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 2:52 am

    Such a great weekend, I wish I had been there! I love that running was written into the weekend schedule, that is AMAZING 🙂

Leave a Reply

