Skip to content

It’s Lunchtime!

February 9, 2011

While most the 9-5’ers of the world (or 8-4, in my case), are breaking out their lunchbox, or heading to the local Subway for a bite, I am heading to the Planet Fitness in Natick for a 3-mile run. I pretty much have it down to a science: I leave work, head to the gym, run 3-miles, shower, change, reapply some make-up, stop at Roche Bros to hit the salad bar, and be back at my desk in 1 hour.

When I worked at Berklee, I headed across the street to the Newbury St. Boston Sports Club. In Irvine, CA, I had a 24-hour Fitness one floor below my office. During most of my professional career, I have used my lunch break to squeeze in some exercise. I find it’s the best break of all:

1. I feel like I have actually taken a break from work.

2. I come back to my desk feeling revitalized, and tend not to hit an afternoon wall (What’s your 2:30 feeling like?)

3. And most importantly, it allows me to get a workout in, even during my busiest days.

Now I am crazy, that I will also be attending a 6 p.m. hot yoga class tonight at HYP Yoga. Some days, 3 miles is not enough, and I find myself putting on my running shoes again in the evening. But for those less fanatical, I find that working out at lunchtime (if possible) can be the perfect way to ensure you are getting the exercise you need. It may be difficult to be motivated in the early morning, and sometimes the last thing you want to do after work is head to the gym. Most business are not paying you for your lunch hour, right? You might as well take the time – and you might as well workout!

After a gchat conversation around fitness this morning with my fellow runner friend Kim, I felt particularly motivated and got a great 3-mile run in. Not too shabby. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. swimmykimy permalink
    February 9, 2011 8:32 pm

    I love lunch time workouts!! I think they are the absolute best way to super charge your day and get your re-focused! Hooray for a healthy and active lifestyle 🙂

  2. February 15, 2011 2:16 am

    You are so lucky that you get to go run at lunch. DEFINITELY take advantage of that as you are one luck gal!

  3. February 18, 2011 5:24 pm

    I didn’t know you worked close to Natick. I’m from Natick and I’m actually thinking about joining PF as my second gym!! I’ve been there a couple times with my friend who has a membership. I grew up around the corner : )

    • February 22, 2011 12:32 pm

      Hey! That’s so funny – my office is right on the Framingham/Natick line on Speen St, so it only takes me about 5 minutes to get to PF! It’s not the most beautiful gym I have ever been to, but it works for my lunchtime workouts. Plus it’s only $10/month… can’t beat it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

