Skip to content

Where’s the rock ‘n’ roll?

February 4, 2011

Happy Friday!

I took my running mileage down a bit this week, right now I am only at 16 miles, and I will probably only do 4-5 miles tomorrow. I made it to 3, yes 3, yoga classes this week, which may be a new record!  I am loving how loose my muscles are feeling, and when I have run this week, I have been able to really push myself, working on some speed work on the treadmill.

I was very happy with my January total of over 102 miles. I didn’t have a set running schedule: I was just super motivated! Get.it.done.

I have signed up for the Marine Corps Marathon on October 30, 2011 through American Cancer Society’s DetermiNation program (I also work for DetermiNation), and I am beyond excited… but I have some time until I need to be sincerely training and putting in some serious mileage.

Yet, I have found myself still sacrificing some time out with friends on the town to get up early and run, even though I am not currently training for anything. I can’t help it. I think about going out on a Friday night and sleeping in Saturday, not running and feeling gross… compared to going to bed early on a Friday night, getting up early on Saturday and running, feeling great and accomplished. The latter has been winning a lot lately.

But, as I approach my 27th birthday later this month, I have to ask myself…. Where’s the rock ‘n’ roll? Have I officially outgrown my party girl self?

Where’s the girl who once lived for Friday nights (and Saturday nights… and Thursday nights…)

 Apparently, she’s too busy running.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

