Skip to content

Surf City Half Marathon 2009

January 31, 2011

Fast forward for a bit to 2008. I received a job offer that would require me to locate to California. I had lived in Boston my entire life; it was an opportunity I could not refuse.

I packed up my life and moved 3,000 miles away, and found myself for the first time ever, alone. Not only alone, but alone with melanoma (I’ll explain soon!).

So what did I do? Five days after my cancer surgery, I signed up for the 2009 Surf City Half Marathon.

And I ran. Everyday.

When I think back to the time I spent living in Huntington Beach, CA, some of my favorite memories are waking up early, throwing on gym clothes, and heading out for a run. Unlike Boston, my neighborhood was 98.5% flat and the weather was consistently sunny and warm (no Boston winters!!). Plus, with a smaller social network, I had more free time to train. Any excuse I would use not to run in New England was eliminated.

As long as I ran at least 7 miles, I ran right along the Pacific Ocean:

I set myself a goal to finish in less than 2 hours, something I had never done before. I was determined and committed.

It was one of the more trying times in my life: I was struggling being so far from home, I was having health issues and was unhappy in my current professional position. Training for the Surf City Half Marathon gave me something to focus on, something to strive for. As it has many times in my life, running saved me.

Although I was a bit disappointed that I finished the 13.1 mile seaside race in 2:04:36 (I promise, someday I’ll do it!), Surf City is still my favorite race ever, for more reasons than one.

I promise you, I was the only runner wearing a Red Sox shirt…

I casually took this picture while picking up my bib, crazy…

One Comment leave one →
  1. swimmykimy permalink
    February 2, 2011 8:09 pm

    Note to self, run this race someday!! Cali in Feb = AMAZING temps/weather VS the worst weather EVER in Boston. BAHHH! Why do we live here??

Leave a Reply

